The Board of Directors (“the Board”) endorses the principles and values of good corporate governance contained in the third King Report on Governance for South Africa and the King Code of Governance Principles (jointly “King III”) which became effective on 1 March 2010.

The Board is committed to transparency, ethical leadership and accountability. The directors understand that the environment, society and business are interconnected and direct the Group’s operations in such a way that sustainable economic, social and environmental performance is assured.

Download the Code of Conduct and Business Ethics Policy

Phumzile Langeni
Chairman Independent non-executive director
BCom (Accounting) (Hons) (Business Management)

Date of appointment: 18 March 2009

Phumzile Langeni is also the Executive Chairman of Afropulse Group. She previously served as an economic adviser to the Honourable BP Sonjica, the Minister of Minerals and Energy. Prior to that Ms Langeni was Vice-President of Investor Relations and an executive director of Anooraq Resources. A stockbroker by profession, Ms Langeni has served as an executive director of Barnard Jacobs Mellet (“BJM”) Securities, Mazwai Securities and Real Africa Durolink (“RAD”) Securities. Ms Langeni also serves as independent non-executive director of Massmart Holdings Limited, Mineworker’s Investment Company, Peermont Global, the Port Regulator and Primedia.

Robin Moore
Group CEO Executive director
Bcom (UCT)

Date of appointment: 05 November 2012

A graduate of the University of Cape Town, Robin has held numerous senior positions within Nampak, Africa’s largest packaging company. He was initially involved in the Liquid Packaging and Tufbag operations before transferring to the UK to manage the company’s first acquisition there. Between 1995 and 2002 he managed the Liquid Plastics Division and was instrumental in establishing it as the leading producer of plastic milk bottles in the UK. In 2002 Robin was appointed as MD of Nampak Plastics Europe, a position he held until his return to South Africa in 2004. He was MD of Nampak's Flexible Cluster until joining Astrapak as CEO.

Manley Diedloff
Group MD Executive director
BCom (Accounting)

Date of appointment: 12 January 2005

Manley Diedloff completed his articles with Fisher Hoffman & Stride in December 1994. He was then employed as a Financial Manager with Bupa Health Services in the United Kingdom before joining HSBC Bank Plc as Internal Audit Manager. Upon his return to South Africa, he joined Grinaker Construction as an accountant and after three years moved to Astrapak as Group Accountant. He was appointed to the Board on 1 January 2005 and has held various positions in Astrapak including that of Group Financial Manager, Group Commercial Manager and Business Development Director. He was appointed Chief Financial Officer on 1 December 2008, acting Chief Executive Officer on 1 June 2012 and Group Managing Director on 1 November 2013.

Paul Botha
Non-executive director
BA LLB, Dip Company Law, Dip Tax

Date of appointment: 30 July 2008

Paul Botha is Chief Executive Officer of Metier and principal of the Lereko Metier Capital Growth Fund. He is an attorney and notary public having been in private practice since 1986. In 1998 he established an advisory division for Brait and was its CEO until 2003. Previously he was a senior commercial law partner in the Johannesburg practice of Fasken Martineau (previously named Bell Dewar & Hall), where he specialised in mergers and acquisitions and cross-border work across a number of industries. Paul has an outstanding record in executing corporate transactions of which the majority has involved private equity transactions and the entrepreneurial multidisciplinary assignments which Metier targets.


Thabo Mokgatlha
Independent non-executive director
HonsBCompt (CTA), CA(SA)
Date of appointment: 21 July 2014

Thabo was previously Head of Treasury and Business of the Royal Bafokeng Nation and financial director of Royal Bafokeng Resources Management Services (Pty) Limited. He was a non-executive director of Royal Bafokeng Holdings (Pty) Limited. He joined the Implats board in February 2003 as a nominee of the Royal Bafokeng Nation. He is an independent director and member of the audit committees of Impala Platinum Holdings Limited, Hyprop Investments Limited and York Timbers Limited.

Günter Steffens
Independent non-executive director
Date of appointment: 18 March 2009

After taking banking exams in Germany he worked for banks in Canada, Switzerland and France. Dresdner Bank AG transferred him to London to establish the bank’s office there. As General Manager he ran Dresdner Bank in London for 25 years and subsequently managed their business as Geographic Head for South and southern Africa in Johannesburg. He retired in 2002 and now is a non- executive director on numerous listed and unlisted companies in SA, Germany and the UK.

Craig McDougall
Independent non-executive director

Date of appointment: 01 August 2012

Craig McDougall has extensive operational management experience at SABMiller, where he served for 30 years in numerous management and executive roles including Managing Director of operating companies - including start up operations in Africa and Europe and Operations Director for Africa and Asia. He also served on many boards of SABMiller companies and associate companies as an executive director, and retired from SABMiller in 2009. He is currently a management consultant working in a variety of capacities including coaching/mentoring; formulating and implementing business plans/strategies and interim management.

Salome Ratlhagane
Company Secretary
BCom (Honours Accounting)

Date of appointment: 18 December 2015

Salome Ratlhagane completed her articles with Deloitte and qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 2011. At the end of her articles, she went on a secondment to Stamford Connecticut, where she was exposed to various international financial service clients. On her return to South Africa, Salome took up an Accountant position at Multichoice Africa before joining Astrapak in March 2013 as an Assistant Group Financial Manager. In August 2014 she was promoted to Group Financial Manager and in December 2015, in addition to that role, was appointed as Company Secretary.